NFL

Ref explains penalty vs. Patriots

Share This Story

   
 

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (AP)

Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that negated a missed Jets field goal in overtime. Nick Folk soon made a 42-yarder to win the game 30-27 Sunday.

NEED SOME? GET SOME

Feed your NFL addiction! Come feast on all the news in our updating blog.

Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: ''Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 (Jones) on the field goal.''

Boger: ''The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation.''

Reiss: ''Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?''

''Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action.''

Reiss: ''Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?''

Boger: ''No, the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Reiss: ''And that's a 15-yard penalty.''

Boger: ''For unsportsmanlike conduct.''

Tagged: Patriots

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


NFL Videos

NFL Roundtable: Dallas Cowboys Posted: Jul 09, 2014
No strangers to making moves...and headlines...have the Cowboys put themselves i...

Steelers getting younger, ready to take AFC North Posted: Jul 08, 2014
Kirk Morrison on the Steelers' chances in the AFC North.

Fantasy Football: Stock report Posted: Jul 08, 2014
Ryan Fowler names two players whose stock is on the rise and another who could b...