The IndyCar drivers like it. The mayor loves it, and so do the fans.
So, why not make the Grand Prix of Baltimore an annual fixture?
After the pit road commotion at Sonoma, Scott Dixon still sent a congratulatory text to winner Will Power.
Yes, Dixon’s penalty wiped out his shot at a victory, but he was at least going to be a good sport.
“I respect Will. He’s a fantastic driver,” Dixon said. “We’re going to be competing, hopefully, together for a lot of years.”
That competition, for now, means they can’t seem to get away from each other on the track.
Power spun Dixon in Saturday’s practice. But Dixon got the final payback when he swiped the pole from Power on the last lap of qualifying to take the top spot for the Grand Prix of Baltimore.
Nothing is going to change the damaging penalty that Scott Dixon received for inadvertently making contact with Will Power’s Team Penske pit crew last Sunday.
The mishap did, however, prompt IndyCar to install new rules involving drivers and the safety of pit crew members.
Dixon was on his way to victory at Sonoma when he received a drive-through penalty with 15 laps to go for clipping a tire in the left hand of a member of Power’s crew. The incident occurred when Dixon’s Honda left his pit directly behind Power’s Chevrolet.
Dixon was livid after finishing 15th, claiming the pit crew member intentionally got in his way. His stance mellowed Friday — to a degree.
“I’m obviously not as angered. I’d probably take back some of the words I used,” Dixon said. “But still, I think the guy was incompetent, not paying attention, and we don’t need that on pit lane. He’s going to cause somebody else harm. I still feel he should be removed from pit lane or some kind of penalty inflicted on him.”
The new rules instituted Friday addressed that concern, and clearly defined where pit crews should stand during the race.
Will Power won at Sonoma Raceway for the third time in four years Sunday, earning his first victory of the IndyCar season when he took advantage of a late penalty to Scott Dixon for injuring three members of Power’s pit crew.
Dixon led until he received a drive-through penalty with 15 laps to go for clipping a tire in the left hand of Power’s tire holder when Dixon left his pit directly behind Power’s Team Penske Chevrolet.
The tire holder went flying into another crew member, and a third member was injured by an air gun. Dixon thought Power’s crew got in his way on purpose, leaving him angry and confused by IndyCar’s latest call against him.